Skip to content

Synthesis of Tennessee Archaeology

David G. Anderson, Lynne P. Sullivan

For the past year a number of us have been preparing a synthesis of Tennessee Archaeology, in a graduate seminar at UT that resulted in a session at the recent SEAC meetings in Knoxville. The chapters are now being completed in draft form, and are being posted to this site as received and as they are revised.

We need your help! Please offer comments or content about the draft chapters posted here!

We are committed to moving forward, and plan to submit this volume to the UT Press for review this year, ideally by summer. Nothing is set in stone yet, however. We envision adding one or more chapters in the Perspectives section, and we are open to changes in any portions of the text.

If you are interested in participating in this project, feel free to contact the authors of individual chapters by email, or either of us.


Tennessee Archaeology: A Synthesis

DRAFT TABLE OF CONTENTS

SECTION 1 BACKGROUND

01. Introduction to the Volume
David G. Anderson (dander19@utk.edu), Lynne P. Sullivan (lsulliv2@utk.edu)

02. A History of Tennessee Archaeology
Bobby R. Braly (bbraly@utk.edu), Shannon Koerner (skoerner@utk.edu)

03. The Setting: Physiography, Past and Present Environment and Resource Structure
Scott Meeks (smeeks1@utk.edu), Jeremy Sweat (jsweat@utk.edu); Heather Welborn (hwelborn@utk.edu); S. Annie Blankenship (sblanken@utk.edu), Jonathan D. Baker (jbaker18@utk.edu)

SECTION II HUNTER-GATHERERS (PALEOINDIAN/ARCHAIC)

04. The First Peoples of Tennessee
D. Shane Miller (dsmiller@email.arizona.edu), John Broster (john.broster@state.tn.us), Juliette Vogel (jvogel1@tennessee.edu)

05. Hunter-Gatherers in Transition: Late Paleoindian and Early Archaic Adaptations in Tennessee
Katherine McMillan (kmcmill3@utk.edu), D. Shane Miller (dsmiller@email.arizona.edu), Juliette Vogel (jvogel1@tennessee.edu), and Jonathan D. Baker (jbaker18@utk.edu)

06. Middle and Late Archaic
Jason O’Donoughue (jodonoug@utk.edu), Matt Gage (mgage1@utk.edu), Jonathan D. Baker (jbaker18@utk.edu), Juliette Vogel (jvogel1@tennessee.edu)

SECTION III HORTICULTURALISTS (WOODLAND)

07. Early Woodland
Heather Welborn (hwelborn@utk.edu), Stephen J. Yerka (syerka@utk.edu), and Clay Barry (captnclay@yahoo.com)

08. Middle Woodland
Stephen J. Yerka (syerka@utk.edu), Heather Welborn (hwelborn@utk.edu), Clay Barry (captnclay@yahoo.com), and Kandace R. Hollenbach (kdh@utk.edu)

09. Late Woodland/Mississippian Transition
Stephen J. Yerka (syerka@utk.edu), Heather Welborn (hwelborn@utk.edu), Elizabeth A. DiGangi (edigangi@utk.edu), Clay Barry (captnclay@yahoo.com), S. Annie Blankenship (sblanken@utk.edu), and Kandace R. Hollenbach (kdh@utk.edu)

SECTION IV AGRICULTURALISTS (MISSISSIPPIAN)

10. The Early Mississippian Period (A.D. 900-1100)
Shannon D. Koerner (skoerner@utk.edu), Bobby R. Braly (bbraly@utk.edu), Michaelyn Harle (mharle@utk.edu)

11. The Middle Mississippian Period (A.D. 1100-1350)
Bobby R. Braly (bbraly@utk.edu), Michaelyn S. Harle (mharle@utk.edu), and Shannon D. Koerner (skoerner@utk.edu)

12. The Late Mississippian Period (A.D. 1350-1500)
Michaelyn S. Harle (mharle@utk.edu), Shannon D. Koerner (skoerner@utk.edu), Bobby R. Braly (bbraly@utk.edu)

Section IV. References Cited

SECTION V HISTORIC (CONTACT ERA/HISTORIC ERA)

13. Contact through Early Federal Period (1540-1810 AD)
Dan Brock (dbrock4@utk.edu); Elizabeth P. Cahill (ecahill1@utk.edu), Samuel Avery-Quinn (squinn@utk.edu), Kimberly Wren (kwren@utk.edu), and S. Annie Blankenship (sblanken@utk.edu)

14. Jacksonian Era/Statehood (1810-1860)

15. Civil War (1861-1865)
Kimberly Wren (kwren@utk.edu), Daniel Brock (dbrock4@utk.edu), Elizabeth P. Cahill (ecahill1@utk.edu), and S. Annie Blankenship (sblanken@utk.edu)

16. New South (1866-present)

SECTION VI PERSPECTIVES

17. The Future of Tennessee Archaeology
Palmyra Moore (pmoore@utk.edu)

18. References Cited


AGAIN, IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN PARTICIPATING, CONTACT ONE OF THE SPECIFIC CHAPTER AUTHORS, OR THE PROJECT TEAM LEADERS, DAVID G. ANDERSON AND LYNNE P. SULLIVAN.
WE WELCOME AND HOPE FOR YOUR PARTICIPATION!!!

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.